About

Clara’s Story

Long story short: Clara Kensie grew up near Chicago, reading every book she could find and using her diary to write stories about a girl with psychic powers who solved mysteries. She purposely did not hide her diary, hoping someone would read it and assume she was writing about herself. Since then, she’s swapped her diary for a computer and admits her characters are fictional, but otherwise she hasn’t changed one bit.

 

ClaraKensie

Short story long: Clara Kensie has always been fascinated by the dark side. As a teen, she read the darkest books she could find—everything by Stephen King, John Saul, and V.C. Andrews—and she watched horror movies alone at night, just for the thrill (this is the part where Clara’s parents would remind her that she was so scared after watching Poltergeist that she slept on their bedroom floor for two weeks). The complexities of family, friendship, and love have always intrigued Clara. Wanting to study human nature, in college she triple-majored in psychology, sociology, and social services, then threw in a criminal justice minor for good measure. She interned at a home for troubled teen girls. She visited prisons. Today Clara lives outside Chicago with her husband, their two kids, and their trouble-making cat, appropriately named The King of Chaos. She’s poured her obsession with the dark side into writing fiction—dark fiction for young adults, to be precise. Her books explore the dynamics of dysfunctional families, the meaning of home, triumph over tragedy, and teens who ultimately find strength within themselves. And they always have a few jaw-dropping plot twists and reveals along the way.

Today, Clara is the author of dark fiction for young adults. Her critically-acclaimed novel AFTERMATH, a dark, ripped-from-the-headlines YA contemporary from Simon and Schuster/Simon Pulse, is a YA Books Central Top Ten Books of 2016 and Goodreads Most Popular Books Published in November 2016. A story of hope, healing, and triumph over tragedy for fans of ROOM and THE LOVELY BONES.

Her DECEPTION SO series (the first two books originally published as the Run to You series) is a super-romantic psychic thriller about a family on the run from a deadly past, and a first love that will transcend secrets, lies, and danger. Filled with heart-pounding romance and plot twists that are guaranteed to knock your socks off, Book One: DECEPTION SO DEADLY and Book Two: DECEPTION SO DARK  was named RT Magazine Editors’ Picks for Best Books of 2014, and DECEPTION SO DEADLY is the winner of one of the most prestigious awards in the industry: the 2015 RITA© Award for Best First Book.  

The Deception So books will be available with new covers, in print and digital, starting with DECEPTION SO DEADLY in August 2017 and DECEPTION SO DARK in February 2018. The series is continuing (!) with DECEPTION SO DANGEROUS in August 2018, DECEPTION SO DEVIOUS in February 2019, and DECEPTION SO DIRE in August 2019.

For updates on AFTERMATH and the DECEPTION SO series, sign up for her newsletter.

When Clara’s not torturing her characters, she’s on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram, reading YA lit, or looking for her keys.