Clara’s Story


Clara Kensie, author of dark fiction for young adults

…don’t forget to breathe…

Clara Kensie grew up near Chicago, reading every book she could find and using her diary to write stories about a girl with psychic powers who solved mysteries. She purposely did not hide her diary, hoping someone would read it and assume she was writing about herself. Since then, she’s swapped her diary for a computer and admits her characters are fictional, but otherwise she hasn’t changed one bit.

Today Clara is a RITA© Award-winning author of dark fiction for young adults. Her debut, the super-romantic psychic thriller Deception So series, was named an RT Book Review Editors Pick for Best Books of 2014, and Deception So Book One: Deception So Deadly, is the winner of the prestigious 2015 RITA© Award for Best First Book.

The first two books in the DECEPTION SO series, originally released as the six-part Run to You digital serial, are now compiled into full-length novels, DECEPTION SO DEADLY and DECEPTION SO DARK. The series continues soon with the never-before-published DECEPTION SO DANGEROUS. The DECEPTION SO series is now available in paperback, and the ebooks are now available exclusively for Kindle (free on Kindle Unlimited)!

Clara’s critically-acclaimed novel Aftermath (Simon and Schuster/Simon Pulse), a dark, ripped-from-the-headlines drama about hope, healing, and triumph over tragedy in the tradition of Room and The Lovely Bones, is on Goodreads’ list of Most Popular Books Published in November 2016, and Young Adult Books Central declared it a Top Ten Book of 2016.

Clara’s favorite foods are guacamole and cookie dough. But not together. That would be gross.

Purchase Clara’s books:

Deception So Deadly: books2read.com/Deception-So-Deadly 

Deception So Dark: books2read.com/Deception-So-Dark

Aftermath: books2read.com/Aftermath

Find Clara online:

Subscribe to my newsletter 

Like my Facebook page

Follow me on Instagram

Follow me on Twitter